Wearing a collar during Lent year 4: the beginning

For the 4th year during Lent, I’m wearing a collar. I wrote about how I decided to start the first year in a post here https://thevicarofhogsmeade.wordpress.com/2011/03/14/lenten-discipline/ .

On the first day, this year I had jury duty. If the PhD wasn’t enough to get me dismissed, the collar was sure to do it. However, I didn’t even get out of the pool of potential people to be considered. So I reported for jury duty, checked in, read my book for the duration of the time-wasting-video-message, listened intently for my name to be called, and then was informed that no more people were needed for juries that day, miraculously missed being chosen for the jury pool that has to report back for next Wednesday during Spring Break when most courts are closed, and then the rest of us were dismissed. We were informed checks (all of $6) were being printed and could be picked up in the next room as we turned in our jury badges. The hardest part of my day was finding the correct bus stop. I waited at the wrong one for 30 minutes only discovering my mistake when 3 buses turned at the corner instead of coming to me. 😦 Then I had to move and wait at the correct bus stop for a bus to take me to my car. I was grateful for the gloves in my pocket that aren’t usually in that jacket.

Some days are like that. I expect it to go one direction and it goes another. With God’s grace, there’s something in my pocket that helps me along the way.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

