Star Word

“Sometimes the things that may or may not be true are the things that a man needs to believe in the most: that people are basically good; that honor, courage, and virtue mean everything; that power and money, money and power mean nothing; that good always triumphs over evil; that love, true love, never dies… No matter if they’re true or not, a man should believe in those things because those are the things worth believing in.”

This is the first thing that came to mind when I realized my Star Word was “True” not “truth.” True.

It’s from the movie Secondhand Lions and is spoken by Uncle Hub to Walter after Walter asks if all of the stories the Uncles tell him are true especially the stories told by the other uncle, Uncle Garth.

I don’t know who actually wrote the words but Uncle Hub’s answer to Walter’s question rang true the first time I heard it. And it’s still one of my favorite parts of the movie. I put it into a sermon or Bible study every chance I get! It resonates deep within me.

After I had a stroke, I thought I had to give up The Vicar of Hogsmeade because I didn’t think I could keep the blog after that kind of event and keep the anonymity. I started another blog with my real name. It never really felt like it “fit” right. The Vicar of Hogsmeade is the one that feels true. So I moved The Vicar of Hogsmeade to WordPress. And, at least for now, I’m not going to link the Vicar to any of the other social media sites but I’m not worrying about the strict anonymity either. I’m claiming my name. I’m back as the Vicar. The Star Word was the nudge to push me over the edge for the first post. True.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in RevGalBlogPals, Star Word and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Star Word

  1. Love!
    Can’t wait to hear your voice again in a few days.

  2. Pingback: Star Reflections | Glass Overflowing

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

