the worst (a postaday prompt from 2011)

Describe the worst teacher you ever had.

The worst teacher was a guy who taught a HTML coding class that was for my PhD work that satisfied a requirement for research (I think). He was adjunct and had delusions of grandeur related to how fast he was going to become faculty and make tenure. He did neither.

The class was 100% online and had an on-campus information only meeting. I had to be on campus for something else and chose to attend. He stated in that meeting that there were a lot of students who were choosing to lower their grades by not attending. It got worse from there.

He was patronizing and condescending. He assumed students would know content he was supposed to teach. He hated using Blackboard and Microsoft products posting long rants about them without actually answering the questions asked by students about how to accomplish a task. Other students would have to help if they knew the answer or have them call the university computer helpdesk.

He regularly told us he was a computer and philosophical genius. I saw little evidence. He may have been. I didn’t see it. He certainly did not have flexibility.

My project was an interactive resume. Where I listed my volunteer time for Glen Lake Camp was a link to the picture on their website of me in the canoe with a camper. For the various towns where I belonged to LIONS, there was a link to that organization. For everything listed that had any online presence, I  made an active link to a picture or to an organization.

(When I was finished, I sent it to my District Superintendent. He couldn’t figure out how to open it. I had to wait for him to come to my church so I could show him how it worked.)

Two weeks before the final the website that the professor used to verify coding to make sure it worked for multiple browsers went down. He basically said, “I have no other way to grade your project. This is a farce. As long as you post your project in Blackboard by the deadline you have an A.” It wasn’t that there were no other verification sites that could be used. It was that he didn’t like them and refused to use them.

I got an A.

Nonetheless, I can hand code HTML … not that I want to.

And one of the drafts from 2011 is now a post.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

