Pick a job, any job …

If you could have any job in the world, what would it be?

Bonus: What is the worst job you’ve ever had? What did you learn from it?

I really love what I do for the most part. I’m not convinced that any job is without some kind of complication that makes it less than ideal. So the perfect job would be the one I currently have with some adjustments. The church I serve is on the cusp of a size where another minister would be helpful but not quite large enough to sustain the position. When things are “slow,” it is pretty easy to handle the demands and can even boring at times (that means I get to read more & work on dissertation) but when things get “busy” the threshold for crossing into “overwhelmed” territory happens fast, i.e., 3 or more people in the hospital at the same time with serious health concerns. I’ve been in larger churches where hospital calls could be rotated. And I’ve been in smaller churches where there were so few things going on that while 3 people in the hospital was significant it was easier to handle.

I’d love for us to grow to the point that we could have a part-time associate and we could share hospital calls, Bible study, and shut-in visitation. But then again, an associate would add one more part-time person requiring supervision. I love it when people do their jobs. I hate it when I have to talk to people about how they need to do their jobs differently. So, maybe I’ll job love the job I have.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

