funny people

Who are the three funniest people in the world? Who are the three funniest people you know personally?

The first funny person who comes to mind is my younger daughter. She has impeccable timing and delivers some of the funniest comments with a completely straight face. She has had this ability since she could talk. I cannot count the times that we have laughed until tears rolled down our cheeks because of what she said or did and it snowballed.

A close second is my older daughter who is funny in a different way. She often serves as the unwitting “straight man” for the younger daughter but then adds to the humorous experience. She also has a knack for witty, geeky humor.

For example, she is competes in Literary Criticism and had to memorize all of the Pulitzer prize winners. One night we met a friend of mine for dinner. The friend has a Master’s in English Literature so I knew the two of them had more in common than my daughter would think they would. Sure enough it was a great dinner. Both of my kids loved my friend. But the thing that told my daughter she had a friend is when she put the order cone on her head and made a comment about “Confederacy of Dunces” and my friend laughed as much as I did.

The third funniest person is actually a group of people. In 2008, I met a group of well educated women who made me laugh so hard that I developed a six-pack in two days. Ok, not quite, but nonetheless I found myself in a group of people who were witty and appreciated my wit as well. I reveled in being in a group where I was not “the funny one” instead there were several of us. And, for the most part, it was a cumulative hilarious effect. Our training and abilities to work with others showed in the ways we brought forth waves of laughter. I’m pretty sure we made a liminal space where a glimmer of the Reign of God was on Earth.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to funny people

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

