bravery

Describe a time when you witnessed bravery: a) in your profession b) with your own eyes c) in someone you admire.

I think bravery comes in many packages.

Last fall, I walked the path with a young couple as they made very hard decisions regarding the medical care for their very pre-mature baby girl who lived 41 days. It is a difficult and compassionate bravery that resides within a parent who must sign a do not resuscitate or release of the body form for a child.

I have seen bravery in my profession as I witness pastors who cling to their calls to ministry in the face of pettiness and meanness from the very people who should be the most supportive. I have watched pastors tightly grasp grace when the temptation of a bully pulpit loomed large. I have listened to stories of actions that should not be true for a group that claims the name Christian. I can testify with other pastors as we trust in God completely while we question and wonder about the institutional church.

I appreciate the bravery needed for individuals to honor the authentic self within created by God. Sometimes it is hard to stand up against expectations, real or perceived.

I don’t think these examples of bravery are anywhere close to inclusive but I do think they are sometimes overlooked in the face of more flashy examples.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

