RevGalBlogPals Friday Five Faves

Fave Verses Friday Five


as posted by Songbird

Twenty years ago, I was on a Pastoral Search Committee, and one of the questions we asked the ten candidates we interviewed in the first round was to tell us their three favorite passages of scripture. I loved hearing the variety of verses quoted and even learned some that I didn’t know, such as the last line of one of this week’s lectionary passages:

He has told you, O mortal, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God? (Micah 6:8)
For today’s Friday Five, list your five favorite passages/verses from the Bible and tell us something about why you love them.
Micah 6:8 At some point in high school, I was introduced to this verse via videotape by Tony Campolo. I don’t remember the video at all. I remember that it was the second video series we were doing during Training Union. The first series had been very well received by my peers and me but the second one turned into “that’s boring” for everyone but me. The leaders abandoned the series but I managed to hang onto this verse anyway. It became a guiding principle for how I understood/understand what it meant/means to be righteous.
John 3:17 This verse came to my attention when preaching the Nicodemus passage several years ago. I couldn’t help but wonder how differently Christianity would be shaped in the United States if verse 17 and been the “most important” verse or if 17 had been constantly paired with 16 so that they were considered inseparable. Since considering those ideas I have done what I could to lift up 17 as often as possible.
Matthew 25:31-46 While preparing the first sermon I ever preached on this passage, I read somewhere (Barclay???) that the sheep were white and the goats were black. I had approached the passage assuming they were all variations of white. With that assumption came another, namely, that the one sorting the animals would have to look carefully to separate them. What I realized in that preparation was that if they were not all shades of the same color, the sorting would be easy and obvious. This passage was already formative before that particular sermon but it hit me that this pairs nicely with Micah 6:8. In both cases, what you do shows who you are.
Romans 8:35-39 A long time ago, I walked away from God. Later I learned that me leaving God never meant that God left me. I’m pretty sure that there are all kinds of folks who need to know that there is nothing that can separate us from the love of God.
Gen 21:6 Of course! I’ve already posted on this one here
About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RevGalBlogPals Friday Five Faves

  1. Songbird says:

    Love your thoughts, especially about John 3:17.

  2. Jan says:

    I’m off to look up John 3:17, which I know I will appreciate from your remarks. I love what you wrote about the Romans passage and am marking that, too. Thanks.

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

