time machine

If you had a time machine that only let you spend one hour in a different time, what date would you go to?

If you’ve read all of this blog (you should, it’s not that much to read most of the posts are 200 words or less), you know that I love to read. I can’t remember how many stories and books I’ve read that had time travel. I also love to watch movies and have seen time travel there, too. The difference for me between this question and those stories is the time limit (pun intended).

For an hour, when (and where is the implicit inclusion) would you go?

I don’t know how to choose. I’m torn between traveling backward and traveling forward. On the one hand, I would love to spend another hour with my dad who died when I was 15 but last saw when I was 12. On the other hand, I’d love to go forward far enough to be able to visit with my grandchildren or great-grandchildren.

And yet, an hour is not enough time to visit with the folks I know and love right now so I don’t know how an hour could ever be enough time. But if given the chance, I’d take it anyway and cherish every minute. I might even figure out how to write more than 200 words about it.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to time machine

  1. Terri says:

    I don’t think I’d want to go to the future. The recent past has been very challenging and the present isn’t much better – I don’t want to know if my life is going to get worse…LOL…I do often wish I could go back in time: Italy or Spain in the Renaissance -with all the art and culture? I think an hour might be long enough to live in those big dresses women wore and deal without some of the modern amenities that help make life comfortable and more hygenic….

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

