blog?

What made you decide to start a blog? If you’ve blogged about this before, go back and read it. Is that still the reason? What’s changed?

A few years ago I found RevGalBlogPals through a Google search for clergywomen. I was so excited to find them! I had already found a group of clergywomen via Ecunet who had shown me just how real online community could be. But curiosity and an extreme “E”xtrovert on the MBTI led me to use the technology I had at hand to see if there was anyone else out there with whom I could connect.

I found the Preacher’s Party and was delighted that I was not the only one who wrote on Saturdays! I read all the posts and comments. I followed the links to read the individual blogs. I heard thoughts and stories that resonated with me and my experiences. Then finally there was a Friday Five I had to play because I had a story to tell.

I didn’t really know how to start a blog but I figured it out that night. Really, I started two blogs. This one and another one. I liked the name of the other one better so that’s where I wrote. But then I had stories to tell that I couldn’t tell there because the details were too specific so the stories went untold to some of the people with whom I connected most deeply in ministry. I thought and thought and thought about starting a blog that was not anonymous but I didn’t. Then I saw the postaday thing and I thought, “that’s it!”

So, I decided to start a blog on WordPress and rediscovered the discarded beginning from years ago. That’s why the URL doesn’t match the title. I didn’t want to blog as Gen216. That’s an important identifier for me but not a great blog name for me. So, I changed the title to something that felt better for me.

So the answer to the question about blogging is really about finding and connecting to a community. Blogging is about hearing and telling stories that are longer than 140 characters.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to blog?

  1. Songbird says:

    So glad you are telling stories. I vacillate about using my real name and my blog nickname. I love my nickname too much to give it up altogether.

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

