snow day

How do you stay entertained when you are snowed in?

My first choice for entertainment regardless of the weather is reading. I love to read. I especially like mysteries or science fiction. I don’t know how many times I have stayed up way too late reading. I don’t know how many times a good book has been the distraction from overwhelming life situations, the tool for procrastination, or the respite from boredom. In many ways over the years, with no hyperbole, reading has saved me.

Television is another option for snow day entertainment whether it is dvd or dvr driven or via the channels available. Of course, this option assumes the power is working. If the girls are very interested in watching something in which I am only nominally interested, I’ll “watch” with them while reading.

Another option for snow day entertainment, if the girls are with me, is playing card games or board games often at the same time we have the tv on particularly if I’m trying to stay on top of the developing weather. For a snow day, we like the long games we don’t always have time to play like Risk, Monopoly, and Phase 10, or repeated games of Uno, Blokus, Scrabble, and Yatzee.

This answer reminds me that when she was younger my oldest loved to play Pokemon Master Trainer the board game. I would have to set a time when we would quit playing for the night, leave everything set up, and play again the next night until someone finally won. It usually took 3 nights. I sometimes wonder where I found the patience to play that game. Maybe it had something to do with love.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to snow day

  1. Terri says:

    Loved playing board games when my kids were little – we had lots of fun with scrabble.

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

