interview

Share a story about a memorable job interview.

The most memorable job interviews I have conducted have been for the position of administrative assistant (church secretary) at various churches. In every church where I have been pastor, I have had to interview people for that position. I prefer for the title of the position to be Administrative Assistant because the duties usually include the obvious: answering the phone, producing the bulletin for worship, and the newsletter; and the less than obvious: arranging repair visits for almost anything that can break or be fixed, scheduling events in various parts of the building(s) and knowing enough about what is going on for people not to get in the way of each other, providing resources for people seeking help with food, rent, utilities, etc. Because of the complex nature of the position, in every church in order to be invited to an interview with me, applicants were required to provide a resume.

One of the memorable conversations was with a woman interested in an administrative assistant position who had turned in a resume that had multiple misspelled words. She called to follow up with me making sure I had received her resume and asking for an interview. When I asked her if she had proofread her resume before answering her question about when she could come in for an interview, she defensively said she had and again asked when she could be interviewed. I had to tell her that due to the misspelled words on her resume I did not consider her a candidate for an interview. She proceeded to yell at me for not giving her interview because she really needed the job and churches and pastors are supposed to be nice. After her outburst, I was glad she had misspelled words so we (the church and me) didn’t have to find out about her anger in a situation with church members.

I also had a memorable interview with a man who was interested in an administrative assistant position. If he had had a little more experience with newsletter type publication, he probably would have had the job. I had a great time interviewing him. He had a terrific personality. He was very engaging and seemed to have the right spirit for the position. But we had two other people with more publishing type experience. I think it would have been an interesting mix for the Administrative Assistant to be a man with a woman Pastor.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to interview

  1. Terri says:

    It would have been an interesting dynamic if you had hired that man….

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

