stress

Are you stressed out right now? (If so, why? If not, why not?)

I suppose I could make this an ironic post about the stress of posting, or not posting as the case may be, to my blog on a daily basis. But anyone who read closely the very first post noticed that I was hedging my bets in the first paragraph. That was a sign. Really.

So I’m not stressed by the blog posting deadlines or obligations. I am stressed at various points of the day or week or month depending on the events of my life at the moment. I am a full-time pastor. I am working on a dissertation. I am a single mom of two teenage girls. Any one of those things can have stressful situations. If I’m lucky, the various stressors from all three don’t hit at the same time.

In addition to those things, I have a chronic, potentially debilitating disease that can be triggered by stress. There have been times when stress has added complications to dealing with the disease. So, I try to keep the daily, weekly, or monthly stressors in perspective. If it’s not divorce or personal attacks by church members, I try to breathe deeply, sleep, and wait to see how things look the next day. A little patience with myself goes a long way for not allowing stress to overwhelm me and become unmanageable or detrimental.

However, if you would like to ease some of my stress by donating money, I would deeply appreciate it. 🙂

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to stress

  1. Songbird says:

    I like your philosophy. I’ll try it next week, after one of the big ones is over. 🙂

  2. Terri says:

    patience with one’s self is often good advice…deep breaths and prayer help too….

  3. jO says:

    LOL! I love you, friend!

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

