style

Do you prefer to talk, text message, or a different communication method?

For me the answer is: it depends.

It depends on who is in the conversation.

It depends on what the conversation is regarding.

It depends on if the conversation is a simple question with straightforward answer or a longer conversation that needs more interaction to get the details necessary.

It depends on the readily apparent potential for emotional content. “Did you break up with your boyfriend?’ Is short and straightforward but to emotionally charged for text. That kind of question is better for phone or in person depending on the person and established relationship.

Then there are the people that I am more than willing to have ongoing conversations with f2f & txt at the same time. There are people that I could spend hours in communication and still find some other thing about which to converse. And then, if we really did manage to run out of topics for conversation, I’d communicate with them in silence as we sat or walked in the same space together.

Then there are the times when really I just want to leave a message via voicemail.

Like I said, it depends.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

