3 countries

The first topic is:

List three countries you’d like to visit, and why you want to go.

England – I have a very common desire among Methodists to go on the “Wesley” tour. I’d also like to check out The Inklings pub. I want to see my friend Kathryn. And then I want to see all the castles and churches I can, as well as, do everything else possible in whatever time I have.

Ireland – When I was in high school I had to give a speech on a particular topic. I don’t remember the topic exactly but I do remember that my mother’s obsession with genealogy came in handy providing the bulk of the content for the speech. That obsession also provided me with tangible proof that I was Irish. The person from my dad’s lineage who immigrated to the United States was born in Ireland. I already wanted to go there but this tidbit of information about my long lost roots more firmly planted the desire to see the country for myself. If I could hear the bells of the cathedral in Dublin peel that would be a bonus blessing.

France – My sister and I are 10.5 years apart. When we were 10 and 20 my mom paid a terrific professional photographer to take pictures of us. We had a blast! When we were 20 and 30 we were together one weekend a few months before I would turn 31. We realized we should get our “decade” picture taken  and went to Sears, or maybe, JCPenney. When we were 30 and 40, it was a sudden realization that if we didn’t get our picture taken in the next couple of hours we would miss our opportunity for our “decade” picture. So we ran to the closest Walmart with a picture studio. It was then that we noticed the downward trend. We resolved to have our 40 adn 50 picture taken in Paris preferably in front of the Eiffel tower.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 3 countries

  1. Songbird says:

    Those are all close enough together to make a marvelous tour for you!

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

