The Monday after Vacation

While on vacation, I received several phone calls from doctors’ offices, specifically, the Rheumatologist and the Primary Care. I had already called the Primary Care doctor to set up a physical because of Rheumatologist’s concerns over slightly elevated blood sugar levels. The earliest appointment I could get for that visit? Sept 11. However, after one of the nurse practitioners in Primary Care’s office saw the lab results sent by Rheumatologist, a call was placed and message left for me on the machine asking for a quick response. I talked to the person on Friday and saw the Primary Care today.

I waited forever to see Primary Care, not really surprising. I really like my doc alot. I wish the office was managed differently so I would not sit and wait so much.

After waiting forever, having a decent amount of conversation, I got to learn how to use one of these.

oh. joy.

First, I forgot to put the strip in the machine first so I got an error message for using a previously used strip. Damn. Another stick.

Second, even though I have the minimal amount needed monitor, I didn’t get enough very easily. So I “milked” and finally got enough.

Then, as I was taking everything apart to put the sharp part in the red box, the protective cap slipped off and the sharp part stuck my thumb. I had plently of sample then! Why couldn’t that have happened for the finger? So by the time I was actually done with the first test, I had three spots instead of one.

At least the test two hours later, after supper, was a one stick test.

I’m on a new learning curve.

About Sarah The Vicar of Hogsmeade

I'm an United Methodist clergywoman with two daughters. I read. I geocache. I look for excuses to laugh. My Ph.D. is on Clergywomen and Grief.
This entry was posted in medical. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Monday after Vacation

  1. So sorry to hear about the glucometer use…not fun, I know.I pretty much have refused to do fingersticks. I use alternate site testing on my forearm. I use the Freestyle Flash meter but many of the meters are approved ( I think your is) for alternate sites…so much less pain (usually none), no healing time and lots of area to rotate the sticks even if you do have to do 3 sticks. Alternate site testing isn’t for everyone, but it might be something to consider.

Overheard at the Three Broomsticks

